AHGP Transcription Project

Elliott County

Elliott County, the 114th in order, was formed in 1869, out of parts of Morgan, Carter, and Lawrence, and named in honor of Judge John M. Elliott. It is situated in the north-eastern part of the state, and bounded north by Carter, east by Lawrence, south by Lawrence and Morgan, and west by Rowan County. It is surrounded by high hills on three sides, the waters from which shed outwardly into Big Sandy and Licking Rivers, but inwardly into Little Sandy River, forming along its tributaries a succession of moderately rich and very pretty valleys.

Martinsburg, formerly Sandy Hook, the county seat, is 21 miles from Grayson, a railroad point, and 30 miles from Louisa, the head of regular steamboat navigation on the Big Sandy; population in 1870, 62.
Newfoundland is 9 miles from Martinsburg and 16 miles from Grayson.

Elliott County, in the short period since its formation, has had no resident senator or representative in the legislature.

Elliott County, it is generally understood, was named in honor of Judge John M. Elliott, now (December, 1873) a resident of Owingsville, Bath County, and circuit judge of the 13th judicial district. Judge E. is a native of Scott County, Virginia; was born May 16, 1820; studied law and was admitted to the bar in 1843; practiced with fine success, at Prestonsburg, Floyd County; was a representative from Floyd, Pike, and Johnson counties, in the Kentucky legislature, in 1847; a representative in the U. S. congress for six years, 1853-59; again elected representative in the legislature, from Floyd and Johnson counties, 1861-63; but an indictment for treason having been found against him, with 31 others, November 6, 1861, in the U. S. district court at Frankfort, and he (although present from September 2 to October 4) not having occupied his seat during the December adjourned session of the legislature, the house, December 21, 1861, expelled him for being "directly or indirectly connected with, and giving 'aid and comfort' to, the Confederate army, repudiating and acting against the government of the United States and the commonwealth of Kentucky." He had thus actively united his fortunes with the cause of the South; was a member of the Provisional Congress of the Confederate States which assembled at Richmond, February 18, 1862, representing the 9th Kentucky district; and a member of each successive Regular Congress of the Confederate States, representing the 12th Kentucky, district, up to the time of the downfall of the Confederacy, over three years in all. In 1868, several years after his return to Kentucky, he was elected, for six years, or until September, 1874, circuit judge of the district embracing Bath, Montgomery, Powell, Estill, Owsley, Lee, Wolfe, Morgan, Elliott, and Menifee (10) counties.

Source: History of Kentucky, Volume II, by Lewis Collins, Published by Collins & Company,
Covington, Kentucky, 1874

Be sure to add us to your favorites list and check back often.

This page was last updated Thursday, 01-Jan-2015 20:50:34 EST.

Webspace for this site is generously provided by

Information contained on this website may be used for personal genealogical research only and not to be given to pay to view sites or used on any other web site without the express consent of the contributor.

Copyright © 2014~2024 by Paula Franklin